(Supported by TSB Community Trust)

The Taranaki Jazz Club is held from 4.30pm (doors open 3.45 pm) at The new Plymouth Club Gill Street. Jazz Club members and the general public are treated to top-line local and North Island jazz bands as well as the occasional visiting international group. Please refer to our What's On page for dates and acts. We welcome visiting jazz club members and are pleased to offer them our club member entry rates.

A community, not-for-profit enterprise, the Taranaki Jazz Club is run by a dedicated committee whose commitment is to both the music and an enjoyable, friendly experience for the audience. The AGM is held in September each year.

In 1995 two well known musicians, Bob Campbell and the late Warren Orr, with assistance from The Manawatu Jazz Club, were instrumental in forming The Taranaki Jazz Club.

The first committee was almost entirely from Natural Gas Jazz Band; Warren Orr President, Michael Petrov Treasurer, Don Boyd Secretary and committee members Alison Hale, Keith Cramer and Feike de Bock. Sue Arbaugh, Louise Moore, Allan Jamieson were also on the early committees.

The Taranaki Jazz Club has always played an important role in fostering the appreciation of jazz across all ages and hosts college bands every year as well as providing an annual scholarship to two emerging, under 21 year old jazz musicians.

We invite people of all age groups to become members and enjoy the discounted admission fee and monthly newsletter benefits.

Old Devil Moon

Tierney Sutton (Blue in Green)

Committee Members

Chairman: Geoff Atkinson

06 7580120

Treasurer: Cynthia Bolger

06 7582582

Membership: Pat Campbell

06 7532475

Newsletter: Liz Gregorash

06 7546990

Secretary: Fay Vosper

06 7586419

Publicity/Events: Gaye Atkinson

06 7580120

Committee: Noreen Taylor

06 7512599

Sound technician: Shane Herbert


Membership fee:

$20 per person​ util end of May 2023. 

Pay to account number :


Please put your name as reference